Megan E.

​Alexandria, VA


[5.0 star rating]​
12/22/2018

Awesome customer service. Highly recommend. I had a leak in my roof and they sent a guy out and had my issue fixed in only a few hours. Very responsive and kept me updated throughout the day with text messages and photos of before and after.



Erin F.
Fairfax Station, VA

[5.0 star
 rating]
6/3/2018

George was great to work with! He came out quickly to assess the gutter work I needed after a tree fell on my house. His quote was quick and fair! The crew came out promptly and completed the work as scheduled! I trusted George and appreciated his promptness, fairness, and knowledge. I'll definitely contact George for any future roofing needs I have going forward! If you're looking for roofing service, I'd highly recommend Smith Roofing!


Alex Z.
Dumfries, VA

[
5.0 star rating]
5/16/2018

These guys are great and very accommodating. I hired the Smith Roofing team after a previous company took off with my money. They took before and after pictures to ensure I had peace of mind. They also gave me a military discount. They were quick to respond and let me pay following the work completion. These are men of their word. I will be using them in the future if there is ever a storm.


Teresa P.
Woodbridge, VA

[
5.0 star rating]
5/19/2017

Contacted George,  checked out my roof & fixed my loose gutters. Explained and answered all of my questions. Honest guy!  When I need a new roof he will be the one that I call.


Marge L.
Dumfries, VA

[
5.0 star rating]
7/8/2016

What a great guy!  George came over checked out the problem on my roof, had water in the kitchen during one of the heavy rains that we have had lately.  He identified the problem, explained what had happened, how they would fix it, took care of the problem in a professional manner.  I would contact him again and have spread the word to all my friends.


Tina D.
Woodbridge, VA

[
5.0 star rating]
3/11/2016

Great guy! Came over to check out my roof as the cause of a leak in the kitchen. He and his crew got up on the roof, found the damage/broken shingles, and had everything replaced in under an hour! Showed me all the damaged shingles, explained how the water was getting in, and how the repairs would stop the issue. I'll definitely call him again if there's another problem.


J C.
Newport News, VA

[
5.0 star rating]
11/3/2014

They replaced the roof on our townhouse in October 2014.  It was done fast and reasonably priced.  Many contractors I contact either don't return calls or are hard to get.  Steve returned my initial inquiry for an estimate while he was on vacation overseas.  He was on site most of the time too.  Overall good experience - would recommend to others.


Donna D.
Arlington, VA

[
5.0 star rating]
6/15/2015

Great guy willing to answer lots of questions and checked out my roof for free. Very helpful and responsive.

Bill L. in Woodbridge, VA
5.0 Stars  |  11-26-2014

Project: Install or Replace an Asphalt Shingle Roof

George was highly recommended and he lived up to the recommendation. Honest and thorough. He did what he said he would do. Very detailed proposal. Excellent work. I would use him again - no question.


Mary Z. in Woodbridge, VA
5.0  Stars |  12-11-2012

Project: Repair an Asphalt Shingle Roof

Nice Job! Reasonable price!



Richard A. in Manassas, VA
5.0 Stars|  11-20-2012

Project: Install or Replace an Asphalt Shingle Roof

They were very professional, on time and did a great job. Had a very short window to get the job done and they made the effort to get it done. The estimate was in line with others, but the information provided on what would be done was very detailed.


Review by a homeowner in Herndon, VA
5.0 Stars |  10-10-2011
Project: Repair an Asphalt Shingle Roof

Very timely in responding to my request including getting out to my house to investigate and give me an estimate. Plus, easy to get in touch with. And was honest in what was needed even if very little work was needed.


Review by a homeowner in Alexandria, VA
5.0 Stars |  10-07-2011
Project: Repair an Asphalt Shingle Roof

Very friendly, great communication, cared about the quality of service.



Review by Franz J. in Woodbridge, VA
5.0  Stars |  09-22-2011
Project: Repair an Asphalt Shingle Roof

Smith roofing did a great job, I was pleased how the job was completed in a timely manner.


Richard E. in Dumfries, VA
5.0 Stars |  01-28-2011
Project: Install or Replace an Asphalt Shingle Roof

Working with George Smith was totally pleasurable. Even though he was not the low bidder, his estimate included all possible materials where some others left that open-ended. George was prompt in his responses to my questions both on the phone and by e-mail. He was reliable in every respect and finished the job on time and on budget. I would recommend him to anyone in need of a roofing project.



David B. in Woodbridge, VA
5.0  Stars |  12-17-2010
Project: Install or Replace an Asphalt Shingle Roof

We had a leak in the roof which was dripping into the kitchen. We know that the roof needs to be replaced, as it is near the end of its usable life. Another company had said the whole roof had to be replaced & quoted an exorbitant fee. George took a look at the roof and actually showed us the problem areas and said that he could try to patch it. The roof hasn't leaked since. When we replace the roof next year, we WILL be using Smith Roofing Co to do it. Smith Roofing beat their price by $2000 AND told us that we would get a discount of 50% of the patching fee. The extremely friendly and professional service. Highly recommended!



Michael I. in Mclean, VA
5.0  Stars |  12-01-2010
Project: Install or Replace an Asphalt Shingle Roof

He was the only roofer that was honest with me! He was very reasonably priced. My roof is fixed and I am satisfied with Smith Roofing. He is a 5 star!

703-590-8829​

Consumer from Woodbridge, VA
Jan 22, 2020


I recently needed some wind-damage work done. George and his crew provided an assessment of the damage, their proposed repair, and offer the evaluate the condition of the rest of the roof - after which an estimate would be provided. Their recommended approach, cost, and time to complete the work were within my budget. All the work was done efficiently. I recommend them!

Consumer from Fairfax, VA
Jan 22, 2020


We hired them to install roof vents for our bathroom fans. While there, the workmen discovered that the rubber collars for 4 vent pipes were disintegrating. They replaced them with no guarantee that we would be willing to pay for them. They took before and after pictures to show us and of course, we paid for them and are very grateful that they saved us from leak damage. They are an excellent company and when it comes time for us to replace our roof we will call them first.

Consumer from Alexandria, VA
Nov 09, 2019


George Smith told me from the get-go he wouldn't do a hard sell and he didn't. He explained the products he uses and explained everything and answered all of my questions. He didn't rush me at all, and he gave me addresses of local houses he had worked on so I could look at the colors of the roofs to help me decide. It took us a while to move on the project, and he honored the price he had quoted me about seven months earlier. He was below the other two I bids I got by at least $1K. They finished the roof in under two days. I did find a small amount of trash in my yard for a few months afterward, but it was nominal. I highly recommend Smith Roofing.

Consumer from Fairfax, VA
Oct 10, 2019


I did my research and got estimates from 5 roofing companies. Smith Roofing was not the lowest bid but was very reasonable. The knowledge base of the owner, George Smith was outstanding and he was on the job every day. The workers have worked for him for more than 20 years and are skillful, respectful of your property, do exemplary clean-up every day before leaving and show they demand of themselves the highest quality of roof replacement for the property owner. I can't sing this company's praises enough!!!!! They are the best!!!! Hire Smith Roofing, you will not be disappointed!

Consumer from Reston, VA
Sep 26, 2019


Smith Roofing was wonderful to work with. George Smith was very responsive to my questions. The crew that managed to replace my townhouse roof in one day was pleasant and helpful as well as very neat. I had three estimates for the work and felt that Smith's was reasonable while covering all my concerns. I was given photos of the job from a roof vantage point which made me feel even more confident about the workmanship. The company was recommended to me by a neighbor who was also very pleased.

Consumer from Herndon, VA
Sep 24, 2019


I had a leak in my 20-year old roof which resulted in water dripping into a bedroom, so replacing it was urgent. I requested quotes from five companies but ultimately chose Smith Roofing because I enjoyed dealing with the owner. George Smith was always helpful and a pleasure to work with; I knew I could rely on his words. The crew arrived early and got to work like pros. When I got back from work they were finishing up and my driveway/deck was a mess. Before they left they cleaned up every single scrap - on my neighbor's property as well as mine - even climbing a tree to remove some paper! I'm very happy with the work they did and the professionalism they showed!

Consumer from Falls Church, VA
Sep 11, 2019


Our experience with Smith Roofing has been excellent. Twice over the past few years, we've had emergency repairs done to our roof with George Smith arranging for assessments, speedy work, and photos. Our roof reached the end of its functional life this year. Smith Roofing replaced it, scheduling the work with the flexibility we needed. Mr. Smith discussed the scope of work in detail in advance, which was instructive and helpful. The work was completed as scheduled, with a large work crew arriving early in the morning, working all day, and cleaning up thoroughly when the one-day project was done. That night we received photos of the roof. Mr. Smith is professional, pleasant, direct, listens carefully, and has a responsive and pleasant work crew. We'd hire him again in a minute.

Consumer from Alexandria, VA
Jun 13, 2019


We just had our roof replaced by Smith Roofing. It was an excellent job at a reasonable price, and all done in a single day (a crew of 9 or so on the roof and 3 to deliver the roofing material). I cannot recommend Smith Roofing highly enough. I would only make one comment for the benefit of Smith Roofing. When the materials were delivered, I was asked to sign an indemnification form to relieve the company of any liability in case the truck hoisting the materials to the roof should damage the driveway. My driveway is old, and no damage occurred in any case, but the fact that I had to sign the paper meant that such damage does occur on occasion. It would been better warning to customers in advance that this form would need to be signed. I can imagine the discomfort of someone with a pristine driveway being put on the spot with a crew waiting to work. A small point, and irrelevant in the end to my house. I'll close by saying what a pleasure it was to work with Mr. Smith--low key, no hard sell, and efficiently performed job, and great results.

Consumer from Mc Lean, VA
Apr 30, 2019


I called Mr. Smith about two roof leaks. One was from our vent that needed a new collar and the other was around our skylight. He gave me an estimate over the phone and said he would send one of his roofers out the same day even though we were expecting a thunderstorm. The workman came and not only took care of the two problem areas but also sealed around one of our other vents and put down some shingles that he noticed were missing at no extra cost! We were invoiced the same amount as Mr. Smith's original estimate and he told us to let him know if we had any additional problems with the work that was done. I am so happy to find someone who is honest, prompt, and interested in satisfying his customers! If you have a roofing problem, call Mr. Smith. You won't be disappointed!

Consumer from Reston, VA
Apr 24, 2019


We used Checkbook to research the potential roof contractors in our area. We researched many roofing products and met with 7 roofing contractors, most of who are in Checkbook, before deciding upon Smith Roofing. We received roofing estimates within a wide range. We had decided on the Certainteed Landmark Pro early on and wanted to select a highly reputable contractor that we had the confidence to install the product with reliability at a fair price. Mr. Smith’s company was the right choice. His crew was very professional and cleaned up daily during the two-day job. During the installation, any questions I had were answered quickly and to my satisfaction. I highly recommend this company for roofing needs.

Consumer from Springfield, VA
Apr 17, 2019


Smith Roofing was highly recommended to me by two friends, neither of whom know each other. I was quite pleased with the job his company performed. The quality of work was good and the service was delivered on time and as promised. I recommend him to any friend or acquaintance who says they are looking for a roofer.


Consumer from Fairfax, VA
Apr 15, 2019


Reasonable price. Not inexpensive, but most competitive bid and high-quality work.

Consumer from Fairfax, VA
Feb 21, 2019


I had a leaky skylight and Mr. George Smith of Smith Roofing was courteous and prompt with an inspection and repair estimate. When I accepted the estimate, the work was scheduled and completed promptly. I never got the feeling that this work was less important than a whole re-roof job. I highly recommend Smith Roofing and will definitely contact them should I need further repairs or a new roof.


Consumer from Fairfax, VA
Feb 06, 2019


A very pleasant experience. No drama. Everything was professionally done. Workers were competent and mannerly. The owner was constantly in contact and I always knew where we were at and where we were going. The price was fair and equitable. I would highly recommend this company to anyone who needs to have the wood replaced on the roof as well as new shingles.


Consumer from Vienna, VA
Jan 31, 2019


I called Smith Roofing based on recommendations from reading Checkbook. Mr. Smith is GREAT. He inspected my roof, said it still had some life to it and if I did not want to replace it now, I should do some repair. He walked me through options on material and showed me pictures of what needed to be repaired. He sent me an estimate on what it would take to replace and to repair. I decided to get the repair. There have been a number of roofs replaced in my neighborhood in the last few months and I KNOW Mr. Smith's quote was very fair. I will be back in touch with him when I do decide to replace the roof.

Consumer from Annandale, VA
Jan 19, 2019

Everything was perfect.


Consumer from Fairfax Station, VA
Jan 18, 2019


We had to wait awhile to get our roof fixed but it was worth the wait. George Smith is super honest and I like how he photographs what they did so you can actually see (without having to climb on the roof yourself!). I highly recommend this roofing co.


Consumer from Falls Church, VA
Dec 07, 2018


The owner George Smith is wonderful. Fair, smart and honest. I could not ask for better. Deep knowledge of the field The men who work with him are all exceptional lifelong employees. You may have to wait to book them, but they are worth the wait!


Consumer from Woodbridge, VA
Dec 07, 2018


George and his crew replaced my roof in August 2018. George is easy to work with and a knowledgeable roofer. He is well known in the community and enjoys a wonderful reputation. I was very pleased with the roof installation and would not hesitate to recommend or use George for any future roofing needs.


Consumer from Vienna, VA
Nov 07, 2018


Mr Smith was able to replace my roof one week after providing his estimate. He provided pictures before, during, and after the roof was replaced. He also provided a 50 year shingle for the price of the 25 year shingle. Other roofing companies had a one month wait time just to provide their estimate. Ground was clean and free of any nails. Smith Roofing is the only company with 100% price and quality ratings by customers.


Consumer from Springfield, VA
Oct 10, 2018


Mr. Smith came to the house, climbed up and looked the roof over. He said it would probably last two to three more years but I opted to have it replaced. I felt his quoted price for the work was very reasonable. Initially, my home was scheduled a few weeks out but he called a day or two later to say he had room in his schedule. His crew showed up and did a great job. Mr. Smith followed up and I couldn't be happier with choosing him to do the work.

Consumer from Dumfries, VA
Aug 01, 2018


I contacted the three highest rated roofers for a ceiling leak I discovered the night before. One said he would get back to me soon, a second said he was too busy. Smith Roofing said he would have someone look at it sometime that day, and that it probably was a ridge vent. A few hours later there was a knock on the door; one of Smith's workers appeared, looked at the ceiling, then went out and climbed up to the roof. There were some hammering sounds. A short time later he came down and said he found loose nails and shingles on the ridge vent. He replaced them and sealed all the affected areas. The next day I received a very reasonable invoice, which I gladly paid immediately. I am 100% satisfied. While I never received an estimate, whether because of miscommunication or some other reason, I have no complaints. My roof leak was taken care of in one day, even though we have had the fourth rainiest July in recorded history.

Consumer from Washington, DC
Jun 30, 2018

A beautiful new CertainTeed roof with 2 replacement skylights was installed at our home in Montclair, Virginia for a fair price by a company with an experienced, long-standing crew. George Smith is easy to work with and quick to respond to any questions or concerns. We highly recommend Smith Roofing.

Consumer from WOODBRIDGE, VA 
Aug 15, 2017

I got three estimates and George was the middle for the cost. Smith Roofing got the job because he was the only one to include the replacement of the two solartube skylights in the estimate. The job was done quickly, efficiently and George and his crew were courteous and attentive. A job well done!

Consumer from FALLS CHURCH, VA 
Jul 28, 2017

Cannot say enough good things about Smith Roofing. They did some repairs for me making sure there were no leaks. I was very impressed with their fairness and thoroughness as well as responsiveness. I highly recommend.

Consumer from ARLINGTON, VA 
Jul 10, 2017

Everything about this experience was excellent. Mr. Smith was helpful, responsive, and knowledgeable. He was very patient about answering my questions. His workers were polite and efficient. They did a great job cleaning up. I have absolutely no complaints and can recommend this company without reservation.

Consumer from WOODBRIDGE, VA 
May 24, 2017

Did an outstanding job. Highly professional completed on time and within bid cost. Great workmanship.

Consumer from FAIRFAX, VA 
May 19, 2017

This is a first-class roofing company. Small, with only 4 roofers, so if you want them, there is usually a month backup, especially in the summer. But here is an indication of how solid they are. All four roofers have worked for Smith for 19 years. Quite impressive. I had gotten an estimate in mid-summer of 2016, but decided to wait until Spring of 2017 to get the roofing done. They honored the 2016 estimate, 9 months later. Left my yard spotless, completed the job in the two days, as promised. Polite and efficient. Can't really comment on the price. They were not the least expensive bid we received, but they had the feel about them for "doing the job right." And they did. Highly recommended.

Consumer from ARLINGTON, VA 
Aug 17, 2016

George, the owner, is knowledgeable, personable and honest. I wouldn't recommend anyone else.

Consumer from HERNDON, VA
Feb 15, 2016

very efficient, excellent work, great price. no complaint whatsoever.

Consumer from SPRINGFIELD, VA 
Jan 20, 2016

Highly recommend. George Smith returned phone calls promptly. Price was the lowest of the vendors that provided proposals. Started work within a few days. The crew did an outstanding job. They corrected several problems that were technically part of the roofing job. The crew was polite and efficient. They did an excellent job.

Consumer from SPRINGFIELD, VA 
Oct 10, 2015

I called Smith Roofing because of the outstanding ratings in Checkbook. George, the owner, came out very quickly, gave us a reasonable estimate, and had our roof fixed as soon as the rain quit. After the work was completed George called us to ensure that we were happy with the work that was done, which, of course, we were. Highly recommend Smith Roofing.

Consumer from ALEXANDRIA, VA 
Jul 11, 2015

This job went really well, from initial contact, acceptance of proposal (with detailed -- and competitive -- pricing options and alternatives), to the conclusion of cleanup. The crew of two neatly and efficiently removed the existing roof (planning the work to accommodate an overnight shower), and then replaced decayed boards and planks to ensure an optimal surface for what was to follow. What followed was a comprehensive roofing system, engineered by the manufacturer, and installed, component by component and layer by layer. I’m confident it was an expert job, because I read the manufacturers specs and installation instructions and watched as the installers measured and fitted and attached and secured and caulked. I also climbed up and asked questions, which were answered with complete (and good-natured) explanations. I saw that the men worked with skill, precision, and care. The job took most of three windy days, and I was glad to see the crew rigged for safety and handling themselves with confidence and care. The wind also meant that some of the debris headed for the truck was carried away, and I was concerned about cleanup, which was very thorough. In the two months since, I’ve come up with (I think) four nails and five scraps of old roofing felt – probably caught in shrubs and dropped later.

Consumer from RESTON, VA 
Jun 25, 2015

I needed some flashing and shingles replaced. They were quick to respond, and easy to schedule with. Their rough estimate was lower than others I contacted, and the invoice came in at that number with no surprises. The owner took photos on his phone of what they were doing up there, and showed them to me. He also talked to me about the expected life of the roof, etc. Overall very professional, trust-worthy, and efficient.

Consumer from MC LEAN, VA 
Dec 19, 2014

Got an appointment with them on short notice. The owner himself came out to see us, advised us helpfully on options, and gave us an excellent price. They did the work shortly thereafter.

Consumer from DUMFRIES, VA
Sep 07, 2014

I had at least 5 different estimates from small to large companies. Smith roofing was the one I selected and could not be happier. I had to be at work so George even sent me photos during the process so I could see how it was going. The roof is beautiful and I recommend Smith Roofing without hesitation.

Consumer from WOODBRIDGE, VA 
Sep 01, 2008

A business you can trust.

TESTIMONIALS
Hear what customers said about us